Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021 Live: BJP secures majority in four out of six corporations, leading in other two

5 days ago

Gujarat Municipal Election Result 2021, Gujarat Municipal Corporation Election Results 2021Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021 Live: The fate of new entrants like AAP and AIMIM will be decided today. (PTI)

Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Surat, Rajkot, Jamnagar and Bhavnagar Municipal Corporation Election Results Live: BJP has swept four out of six municipal corporations. It has secured clear majority in Rajkot, Jamnagar, Vadodara and Bhavnagar and is leading in other two. The saffron party has registered landslide victory in Rajkot with no other party opening its account so far. Results/trends declared for 350 seats out of 576. BJP is leading/won 284 seats, Congress 45, AAP 18 while AIMIM has slipped to zero. BJP has taken leads in all six Municipal Corporations. Debutant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has made an impressive debut with its candidates leading on a 18 seats in Surat. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM is also set to open its account in Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation. Both AAP and AIMIM have contested the Gujarat Municipal Corporation Elections for the first time. The trends are encouraging for both the debutants as AAP is ahead in 18 seats in Surat while AIMIM is ahead on four seats in Ahmedabad. Votes were cast for a total of 576 seats with each ward having four corporators, and 2,276 candidates. Check out Latest tally below:

Ahmedabad (194): BJP leading on 83, Congress 18, AAP 0, AIMIM 0, Others 0

Surat (120): BJP leading on 47, Congress 9, AAP 9, Others 0

Rajkot (72): BJP leading on 52, Congress 0, AAP 0 and Others zero

Jamnagar (64): BJP leading on 36, Congress 5, AAP 0, Others 3

Vadodara (76): BJP leading on 45, Congress on 7, AAP 0 others zero

Bhavnagar (52): BJP leading on 27, Congress 7, AAP 0 and others zero

Counting of votes for six municipal corporations, including major cities of Ahmedabad and Vadodara, is underway in Gujarat today. Voting for 576 seats in 144 wards across six civic bodies was held on February 21. According to the State Election Commission (SEC), an average 46.08 per cent voter turnout was recorded during the polls. Ahmedabad recorded the lowest turnout of 42.51 per cent while Jamnagar saw the highest turnout of 53.38 per cent. Rajkot registered a modest 50.72 per cent voting, Bhavnagar 49.46 per cent, Vadodara 47.84 per cent and Surat 47.14 per cent. BJP is the ruling party in all six municipal corporations. Today again, all eyes will be on the BJP. MV Joshi, secretary, State Election Commission yesterday informed that designated staff would begin the counting of votes from 9 am at various counting centres in these six cities. The state election commission will provide live updates of the results on its website. Of the total 1.14 crore voters registered in these major cities of Gujarat, 52.83 lakh had cast their ballots. Elections to 81 municipalities, 31 district panchayats and 231 taluka panchayats are scheduled on February 28.

Read More

Article Source